Merck Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

honeypot link

Introduction to Reptiles


Stephen J. Divers

, BVetMed, DZooMed, DACZM, DECZM (herpetology), FRCVS, University of Georgia

Last full review/revision Aug 2020 | Content last modified Sep 2020

Reptiles can be easily recognized by their horny or scaly skin. The class Reptilia has 4 orders. The order Rhynchocephalia includes only 1 living species, the tuatara, which is native to New Zealand. The order Crocodilia includes alligators, caimans, crocodiles, and gharials (a crocodilian species native to the Indian subcontinent). The order Testudines contains tortoises and turtles, also called chelonians. The order Squamata includes lizards and snakes.

For More Information

Also see professional content regarding reptiles.

Others also read

Also of Interest

Become a Pro at using our website