Merck Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

honeypot link

Overview of Amphibians


Brent R. Whitaker

, MS, DVM, University of Maryland, Institute of Marine and Environmental Technology

Last full review/revision Sep 2013 | Content last modified Sep 2013
Topic Resources

The class Amphibia is composed of three orders: Anura (frogs and toads), the largest with >3,500 species; Caudata (salamanders, newts, and sirens) with ~375 species; and Gymnophiona (caecilians) with ~160 species.

Others also read

Also of Interest

Become a Pro at using our website