Merck Manual

Please confirm that you are a health care professional

honeypot link

Overview of Marine Mammals


Michael K. Stoskopf

, DVM, PhD, DACZM, College of Veterinary Medicine, North Carolina State University

Last full review/revision Oct 2015 | Content last modified Oct 2015

Marine mammals are a diverse group of species that include cetaceans, pinnipeds, sirenians, sea otters, and polar bears. The cetaceans consist of two major groups with different physiology and anatomy: toothed whales (Odontocetes) and baleen whales (Mysticetes). The pinnipeds consist of three major groups: true seals (Phocidae), eared seals (Otariidae), and walruses (Odobenidae). Sirenians (Sirenidae) are of a single family that includes manatees and dugongs. The sea otter (Enhydra lutris) is a marine member of the Mustelidae, and the polar bear (Ursus maritimus) is the only member of the Ursidae that is considered marine.

Few pharmaceuticals or vaccines are approved for use in marine mammals. Many recommendations can be made based on personal experience or published reports, but clinicians should be cautious in their application.

Others also read
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID
Download the Manuals App iOS ANDROID

Test your knowledge

Management of Backyard Poultry
Small flocks of chickens are increasingly being kept in backyards by novice urban farmers for egg production. Creating a healthy environment for the birds is crucial for success. Which of the following statements about the backyard environment is correct?
Become a Pro at using our website 

Also of Interest

Become a Pro at using our website